The Department is directed by the Head of Department and a Deputy Head. Operational activities – research and education – are conducted by the Department of Law.  The Head of Department directs and allocates departmental work. Following the decision of the University Board, the Head of Department is responsible for the budget as well as the Department’s organisation and staff. The Department of Law is governed by the Department Board. The Board issues guidelines e.g. teaching and examinations, it draws up the budget, and handles similar matters..

The Department comprises eleven institutes and centres and eight foundations.